April 21, 2011

Colorado State University's Collaborative Conservation Fellows Named

FORT COLLINS - The Center for Collaborative Conservation (CCC) and the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University awarded 18 fellowships to form the third cohort of CCC fellows. These fellows include eight graduate students, five faculty members and five conservation practitioners. In addition, several undergraduate CCC interns will be selected to work with the new CCC fellows.

The purpose of the CCC Fellows Program is to strengthen engagement among students, faculty, conservation practitioners and other stakeholders by promoting collaborative research, education and action on critical issues concerning conservation and livelihoods on landscapes around the globe. The CCC fellows are part of the Collaborative Conservation Learning Network where principles and practice of collaborative conservation are developed, exchanged, tested and adapted.

Jessica Clement is a social scientist and forest ecologist who co-directs the Colorado Forest Restoration Institute (CFRI) within CSU’s Department of Forest, Rangeland and Watershed Stewardship. With Michael Schrotz, who is planning and lands staff officer of Bridger-Teton National Forest in Wyoming, and Tony Cheng, who is director of CFRI, Clement will explore methods to effectively integrate social science to benefit collaborative, large landscape-scale planning and conservation processes. She will describe methods for using various types of social science data to enhance long-term collaborative planning and conservation to benefit cultural, economic and ecological components of landscape conservation on the Bridger-Teton National Forest.